Fees

Non-Discharge Branch

Non-Discharge Branch

Use the tabs below to view the fee types, payment information, and FAQs

Fee Types

Fee Types

Non-Discharge Permit Type

New Application Fee

Major Modification Fee1

Annual Fee

Wastewater & Reclaimed Water

(Permitted Flow ≥ 10,000 GPD) 2

$1,310

$395

$1,310

Wastewater & Reclaimed Water

(Permitted Flow < 10,000 GPD) 3

$810

$245

$810

Residual

(Permitted for ≥ 3,000 dry tons or ≥ 300 acres) 2

$1,310

$395

$1,310

Residual

(Permitted for < 3,000 dry tons or < 300 acres) 3

$810

$245

$810

Closed-Loop Recycle

$360

$110

$360

Single-Family Residence

$60

$20

$60

Reclaimed Water Distribution Line 4

$480

N/A

N/A

1 - A major modification of a permit is any modification that would allow an increase in the volume or pollutant load of the effluent per G.S. 143-215.3D(d)

2 - Wastewater irrigation, high-rate infiltration, other non-discharge wastewater and reclaimed water facilities with an average daily flow greater than and equal to 10,000 gallons per day (GPD); Class A residual management systems distributing greater than or equal to 3,000 dry tons; Class B residual management systems containing greater than or equal to 300 acres.

3 - Wastewater irrigation, high-rate infiltration, other non-discharge wastewater and reclaimed water facilities with an average daily flow less than 10,000 gallons per day (GPD); Class A residual management systems distributing less than 3,000 dry tons; Class B residual management systems containing less than 300 acres. 

4 - Reclaimed water distribution is for distribution lines only, and does not include reclaimed water generation sources and end uses.

Application Fee Requirements

Application Fee Requirements

  • Application fees are non-refundable
  • Application fees must be submitted by check or money order and made payable to the North Carolina Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ)
  • Application types which require an application fee: New and Major Modification
  • Application types which do NOT require an application fee:  Change of Ownership, Minor Modification, Name Change, Renewal
  • Application fees are established in G.S. 143-215.3D
Annual Fee Requirements

Annual Fee Requirements

  • Checks/Money Orders/Electronic Transfers shall be made payable to the North Carolina Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ)
  • Mail payment to: NCDEQ - Division of Water Resources, Attn: Non-Discharge Billing, 1617 Mail Service Center, Raleigh NC 27699-1617
  • Annual fees are established in G.S. 143-215.3D
  • Annual fees may be paid using ePayment
NOVs & Civil Penalty Assessments

NOVs & Civil Penalty Assessments

  • Civil penalty payment should be sent to the Non-Discharge Compliance Specialist, Chloe Lloyd
  • Payment can be check, money order, or electronic funds transfer
  • If paying via electronic funds transfer, please send Chloe Lloyd an email notifying her of the payment.  This will ensure the payment is logged into the Non-Discharge database.
  • NOVs for annual fees can be paid using ePayment
  • For questions regarding NOVs, Civil Penalties, etc. please contact Chloe Lloyd (919) 707-3657
Fee FAQs

Fee FAQs