Donate to Hurricane Recovery

DEQ Orders All Coal Ash Excavated

Closure Determination

After conducting a rigorous scientific review of Duke Energy’s proposals for Allen, Belews, Cliffside/Rogers, Marshall, Mayo and Roxboro facilities, DEQ has determined excavation of all six sites is the only closure option that meets the requirements of Coal Ash Management Act to best protect public health and the environment.

For a revised timeline, click here.