Nutrient Scientific Advisory Board

NC Nutrient Scientific Advisory Board

(Usually, the NSAB meets the first Friday of the month, 9:30am - 12:00pm at TJCOG)

Purpose:   Session Law 2009-216 required the Secretary of DEQ establish a Nutrient Scientific Advisory Board (NSAB).  Its primary role is to provide advice and recommendations to the Division and local governments on ways to effectively meet existing development requirements of nutrient strategies in general and the Jordan ED Stage 2 requirements specifically.

Duties:  from SL 2009-216 Section 3(d)(2)b and SL 2009-216 Section 4.(b)

  • Develop method for estimating jurisdiction-scale loadings from existing development: baseline, post-baseline increases, and reduction goals.
  • Identify management strategies that can be used by local governments to reduce nutrient loading from existing development.
  • Evaluate the feasibility, costs, and benefits of implementing the identified management strategies.
  • Develop an accounting system for assignment of nutrient reduction credits for the identified management strategies.
  • Identify the need for any improvements or refinements to modeling and other analytical tools used to evaluate water quality in nutrient-impaired waters and nutrient management strategies
  • Submit an annual report to the Secretary of DEQ by July 1 of each year.

NSAB Annual Report to the Secretary:   2017,  2016,  2015,  2014,  2013,  2012,  2011

NSAB Meeting Documents (agendas, meeting summaries, presentations)

NSAB Members

A requirement of the NSAB was to establish a board with up to 10 representatives with various qualifications and diverse backgrounds:
  • Local Government Representatives:
    • Cary €- Eric Kulz
    • Chapel Hill - Allison Weakley
    • Durham - Sandra Wilbur
    • Elon, Gibsonville, Graham & Mebane - Josh Johnson
    • Greensboro €- David Phlegar
  • Professional or Academic Representative:
  • Professional Engineer: NCSU Dept Biological Engineering €- Bill Hunt
  • NC Dept of Transportation Representative: NC DOT €- Andy McDaniel
  • Conservation Organization Representative: NC Conservation Network - Grady McCallie
  • To represent the Falls Lake watershed, the board added a non-voting member: UNRBA - Forrest Westhall
For more information, contact:

Patrick Beggs