Advisory Board

The ESI advisory board oversees program development and implementation. The DEQ Secretary approves all invitations to the Board. Whenever possible, Environmental Stewards, who have been in good standing in the program for a minimum of one year, will be given priority for membership.

Role of Advisory Board:

  • Reviews program materials and makes suggestions for improvements;
  • Reviews applications that meet minimum requirements and recommends Rising Stewards and Stewards;
  • Reviews program effectiveness and makes any recommended changes to the Secretary; and
  • Any other duties assigned to them by the Secretary.

For further information on the requirements of an Advisory Board member, as well as details on level criteria please review the Advisory Board Guidance Manual.

ESI Advisory Board Members

Name Organization City
DEQ Secretary Appointee NCDEQ Raleigh
Daniel Bagnell The Scrap Exchange Durham
Aubrey Meadows Engineered Sintered Components Troutman
Jamie Morgan Santa Fe Natural Tobacco Oxford
Jane Woodall Dell - Apex Apex
Alice Wesselman Thomas Built Buses, Inc. High Point
Tausha Fanslau Bridgestone Americas Tire Operations Wilson
Jim Lanier Earth Farms Organics Dallas
Mary Joan Pugh NC Zoological Park Asheboro
David Shellenbarger City of Gastonia Gastonia
Steve Street Hickory Manufacturing & Technology Center, Corning Cable Systems, LLC Concord

DEQ Internal Workgroup


  • Reviews on all applicants for compliance;
  • Provides internal comments on applicant performance;
  • Reviews and recommends Environmental Partners;
  • Reviews program materials and provides guidance to the Advisory Board;
  • Increases visibility of ESI within DEQ;
  • Recommends incentives to the Secretary as identified; and
  • Undertakes any other duties as assigned by the Secretary.

DEQ Internal Workgroup Members

Name Division
Shawn McKee Division of Waste Management
Vanessa Manuel Division of Water Resources
David Lee Division of Environmental Assistance and Customer Service
Bernard McKee Division of Air Quality
Toby Vinson Division of Energy, Mineral and Land Resources