Pre-Regulatory Landfill Program

A program is established under North Carolina law to address pre-regulatory landfills that closed prior to January 1, 1983 when waste disposal permitting regulations commenced. This program is implemented by the Pre-Regulatory Landfill Unit within the Inactive Hazardous Sites Branch.

The law imposes a tax of $2/ton on municipal solid waste and construction and demolition debris disposed in landfills in North Carolina or transferred out of state for disposal. One half of this tax goes to the Branch to prioritize, assess and implement remedial action plans for each pre-regulatory landfill. A pre-regulatory landfill is defined as any land area, whether publicly or privately owned, on which municipal solid waste disposal occurred prior to January 1, 1983, but not thereafter, and does not include any landfill used primarily for the disposal of industrial solid waste.

The Pre-Regulatory Landfill Unit has dedicated staff to oversee firms under contract to conduct the work. A unit of local government may voluntarily undertake assessment of the site and remedial action of imminent hazards and get reimbursed if the work is pre-approved by the Unit and complies with the requirements of G.S. 130A-310.6 (f).

General questions regarding the Pre-Regulatory Landfill program should be directed to Cheryl Marks at 919-707-8333 or at cheryl.marks@ncdenr.gov.

The Guidelines for Addressing Pre-Regulatory Landfills & Dumps provide assessment guidelines for these old landfill sites and are a supplement to the Inactive Hazardous Sites Program Guidelines for Assessment and Cleanup.

General Information for the Local Government Reimbursement Process provides guidance under the local government provision for voluntary assessment or abatement of an imminent hazard.

Contacts:

Cheryl Marks, Supervisor
Cheryl.Marks@ncdenr.gov
(919) 707-8333

Staff:

Thomas Slusser
Thomas.Slusser@ncdenr.gov
(919)707-8331

Zi-qiang Chen
Zi-qiang.Chen@ncdenr.gov
(919)707-8347

Matt Aufman
Matt.Aufman@ncdenr.gov
(919) 707-8348

Jason Kam
Jason.Kam@ncdenr.gov
(919)707-8346

David Kwiatkowski
David.Kwiatkowski@ncdenr.gov
(919) 707-8230

Brian Wright
Brian.Wright@ncdenr.gov
(919) 707-8345