MACT / GACT Rules

National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants (NESHAPs)

Maximum Achievable Control Technology (MACT) and
Generally Available Control Technology (GACT)

The federal Clean Air Act requires the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) to regulate emissions of hazardous air pollutants (HAPs) from a published list of industrial source categories. As required under the act, the EPA has developed a list of source categories that must meet control technology requirements for these toxic air pollutants that are known or suspected to cause cancer or other serious health problems, such as reproductive or birth defects, or environmental problems. These standards are called the National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants or NESHAPs.

The NESHAPs are found in 40 CFR Part 63 of the Clean Air Act. These standards require application of technology-based emissions standards referred to as Maximum Achievable Control Technology (MACT) or Generally Available Control Technology (GACT). The NESHAPs are delegated to the states, but both the EPA and the states implement and enforce these standards. Compliance with an applicable federal and/or state rule is the responsibility of the facility.

The EPA has finalized almost all of the MACT standards and a majority of the GACT standards to date. North Carolina's implementation information regarding key MACT and GACT regulations can be found in the following links:

CONTACTS:

Region Contact email Telephone
Asheville Patrick.Ballard@ncdenr.gov 828-296-4500
Fayetteville Heather.Carter@ncdenr.gov 910-433-3300
Mooresville Joe.Foutz@ncdenr.gov 704-663-1699
Raleigh Dena.Pittman@ncdenr.gov 919-791-4200
Washington Betsy.Huddleston@ncdenr.gov 252-948-3836
Wilmington Dean.Carroll@ncdenr.gov
Ashby.Armistead@ncdenr.gov
910-796-7215
Winston-Salem Jalal.Adouli@ncdenr.gov
Maria.Aloyo@ncdenr.gov
336-776-9633
336-776-9634
Central Office - Permits Betty.Gatano@ncdenr.gov 919-707-8736
Central Office - Compliance Gary.Saunders@ncdenr.gov 919-707-8413
How can we make this page better for you?
Send us some feedback!

Thank you for providing feedback on our website. Your idea will go to our web team. If you want to contact someone specifically and get a response, please go to the contact page.

User Feedback

Back to top