Non-Discharge Branch

Notice: Based on the current guidance to minimize the spread of COVID-19, the Non-Discharge Branch has adjusted operations to protect the health and safety of the staff and public. Many employees are working remotely. To accommodate these changes, we ask that all requests/inquiries be made by email. Please refer to the staff directory below. We appreciate your patience during this challenging time.

The Non-Discharge Branch is responsible for the permitting and compliance of residual and wastewater effluent land application facilities. The Branch is also responsible for permitting facilities for the beneficial use of reclaimed water for the purpose of conserving the state's potable water, surface water, and groundwater resources.

*Please note: The Non-Discharge Branch has transitioned to electronic permitting. Permit applications, monitoring reports, annual reports, certifications, etc. should be submitted electronically using the Electronic Application/Document Upload form or by email to (for applications smaller than 20 MB). Paper copies are no longer required.

If you have a non-discharge environmental complaint, reporting question, a noncompliance notification, or any operation and maintenance related question, please contact your Regional Office.

For technical questions, please contact the following staff:

Staff Directory:

Phone Number
Nathaniel Thornburg Environmental Program Manager II (919) 707-3653 942X
Lauren Plummer, PE Engineer III (919) 707-3660 942Y
Erick Saunders Engineer II (919) 707-3659 942V
Poonam Giri Hydrogeologist II (919) 707-3656 942Z
Chloe Lloyd Environmental Specialist II (919) 707-3657 942R
Vivien Zhong, PE Engineer II (919) 707-3627 942T
Poorva Mokashi Engineer I (919) 707-3661 942U
Vacant Engineer I (919) 707-3658 942V
Vacant Administrative Specialist I (919) 707-3654 942W

Physical Address:

Archdale Building, 9th Floor

Mailing Address:

By U.S. Postal Service:
Division of Water Resources- Non-Discharge Branch
1617 Mail Service Center Raleigh, NC 27699-1617
By Courier/Special Delivery:
Division of Water Resources- Non-Discharge Branch
Att: Nathaniel Thornburg- 9th Floor, Office #942X
512 N. Salisbury St. Raleigh, NC 27604