Nutrient Scientific Advisory Board

NC Nutrient Scientific Advisory Board

NEXT MEETING: AUGUST 4, 2017   (Unless otherwise noted, the first Friday of the month, 9:30am - 12:00pm at TJCOG)

Purpose:   Session Law 2009-216, in addition to setting requirements for stormwater from existing development in the Jordan Lake Watershed, required the formation of a Nutrient Scientific Advisory Board (SAB) to improve on the tools needed to address nutrient loading from existing development in any watershed, statewide, where nutrients are of concern. The Secretary of DENR was required to establish the Nutrient Scientific Advisory Board (NSAB) with up to 10 representatives with various qualifications by July 1, 2010. The primary role of the NSAB, as seen by the Division, is to provide advice and recommendations to the Division and local governments on ways to effectively meet existing development requirements of nutrient strategies in general and the Jordan Stage 2 requirements specifically.

Duties:  from SL 2009-216 Section 3(d)(2)b and SL 2009-216 Section 4.(b)

  • Develop method for estimating jursidication-scale loadings from existing development: baseline, post-baseline increases, and reduction goals.
  • Identify management strategies that can be used by local governments to reduce nutrient loading from existing development.
  • Evaluate the feasibility, costs, and benefits of implementing the identified management strategies.
  • Develop an accounting system for assignment of nutrient reduction credits for the identified management strategies.
  • Identify the need for any improvements or refinements to modeling and other analytical tools used to evaluate water quality in nutrient-impaired waters and nutrient management strategies
  • Submit an annual report to the Secretary of DEQ by July 1st of each year.

NSAB Annual Report to the Secretary:   2017,  2016,  2015,  2014,  2013,  2012,  2011


NSAB Meeting Documents, including agendas, meeting summaries, and presentations


NSAB Members

A requirement of the NSAB was to establish a board with up to 10 representatives with various qualifications and diverse backgrounds:
  • Local Government Representatives:
    • Burlington €- Michael Layne
    • Cary €- Eric Kulz
    • Chapel Hill - Allison Weakley
    • Durham - Sandra Wilbur
    • Elon, Gibsonville, Graham & Mebane - Josh Johnson
    • Greensboro €- David Phlegar
  • Professional or Academic Representative: UNC €- Lawrence Band
  • Professional Engineer: NCSU Dept Biological Engineering €- Bill Hunt
  • NC Dept of Transportation Representative: NC DOT €- Andy McDaniel
  • Conservation Organization Representative: NC Conservation Network - Grady McCallie
  • To represent the Falls Lake watershed, the board added a non-voting member: UNRBA - Forrest Westhall
For more information, contact:

Patrick Beggs