DAQ Organizational Structure

DENR Green Square building

DAQ Organizational Structure 

The Division of Air Quality (DAQ) consists of five sections located in the central offices in Raleigh and seven regional offices located across the state. The sections are further broken down into branches, each responsible for specific tasks in achieving our overall mission.

Administration Section
The Administration Section is responsible for the overall operations of the division, including management, budget, and public information.

Ambient Monitoring Section
The Ambient Monitoring Section is responsible for measuring levels of regulated pollutants in the ambient (outdoor) air. The section maintains a network of 70 monitoring stations across the state, measuring for pollutants such as ozone, lead, particulates (dust), nitrogen oxides, sulfur dioxide, carbon monoxide, and acid rain.

Permitting Section
The Permitting Section handles the issuance, renewal and modification of air quality permits in North Carolina. Currently, more than 2,500 facilities hold air quality permits in the state.

Planning Section
The Planning Section performs computer modeling and analyses to determine how to attain air quality standards. Works with the legislature and Environmental Management Commission to develop rules, regulations and programs for meeting air quality standards. Coordinates the N.C. Air Awareness Program, which educates and informs the public about air pollution, its causes and effects, and ways to prevent it.

Technical Services Section
The Technical Services Section is responsible for tracking facilities for compliance with air quality rules, regulating emissions from mobile sources (cars and trucks), and the Chemical Accidental Release Prevention program. Coordinates enforcement actions for rules violations based on inspections and investigations by field staff.

Regional Offices
The Regional Offices are based in Asheville, Mooresville, Winston-Salem, Raleigh, Fayetteville, Wilmington and Washington perform inspections, enforce air quality regulations and issue permits for facilities across the state.

Leadership

Michael Abraczinskas
Director
Michael.Abraczinskas@ncdenr.gov

Michael Pjetraj
Deputy Director
Michael.Pjetraj@ncdenr.gov

Joette Steger
Acting Ambient Monitoring Section Chief
Joette.Steger@ncdenr.gov

William Willets
Permitting Section Chief
William.Willets@ncdenr.gov

Sushma Masemore
Planning Section Chief
Sushma.Masemore@ncdenr.gov

Gary Saunders
Acting Stationary Source Compliance Branch Supervisor
Gary.Saunders@ncdenr.gov

Brian Phillips
Mobile Source Compliance Branch Supervisor
Brian.Phillips@ncdenr.gov