Energy Policy Council

The N.C. Energy Policy Council advises the governor and General Assembly on legislation and rulemaking that addresses domestic energy exploration, protects the environment and encourages economic development. Council responsibilities include developing a comprehensive energy policy that addresses present and future needs, while moving North Carolina and the country toward energy independence. 

Energy Policy Council members have expertise in areas such as research and policy, environmental management, the utility industry and energy resources. The council also develops contingency and emergency plans to deal with possible shortages of energy to protect public health, safety and welfare, and makes recommendations about energy efficiency and conservation. The council is an independent body staffed by the N.C. Department of Environmental Quality.


Lt. Governor Mark Robinson, chairman

Energy Efficiency (EE) Committee Members

  • Scott Tew, Chair
  • Ryan Gragg
  • Paolo Carollo
  • Sushma Masemore, acting for DEQ Secretary Regan
  • Lt. Governor Robinson designee
  • Star Hodge - (Committee staff contact)

Energy Infrastructure (EI) Committee Members

  • Gus Simmons, Chair
  • Bruce Barkley
  • Rachael Estes
  • Diane Denton
  • Lt. Governor Robinson designee
  • Paula Hemmer (Committee staff contact)

Energy Assurance (EA) Committee Members

  • Paul Worley, Chair
  • Jenny Kelvington
  • Herb Eckerlin
  • John Hardin, acting for Secretary of Commerce Copeland
  • Lt. Governor Robinson designee
  • Russell Duncan (Committee staff contact)

Energy Policy Council Distribution List

If you would like to be added to the Energy Policy Council/Committee distribution list to receive email meeting notifications and updates, please contact Laura Alexander at


Energy Policy Council Biennial Reports EPC Meeting Schedule

EPC Meeting Schedule

Upcoming Energy Policy Council Meetings

The next Energy Policy Council meeting is scheduled for Wednesday, February 17, 2021 from 10:00 AM to 12:00 PM via Cisco WebEx.


Cisco WebEx Link:

Event Number: 171 892 7482
Event Password: EPCFeb

Cisco WebEx by Telephone: +1-415-655-0003 US TOLL
Access Code: 171 892 7482

Participants may begin joining the meeting at 9:45AM

Upcoming Energy Policy Council Committee Meetings

Energy Infrastructure Committee Meeting – Wednesday, February 10, 2021 @ 5:00 pm  Agenda

Energy Assurance Committee Meeting – Friday, February 12, 2021 @ 1:00 pm  Agenda

Energy Efficiency Committee Meeting – Monday, February 15, 2021 @ 1:00 pm  Agenda


Unless otherwise specified, meeting locations, virtual access, and/or call-in numbers can be found on each attached agenda.