Classification & Standards

Classifications, Standards & Rules Review Branch

The Classifications, Standards & Rules Review Branch is responsible for developing and assisting with the interpretation and implementation of the state's surface water and groundwater quality standards and surface water body classifications such as Water Supply (WS), High Quality Waters (HQW), and others. It provides support for DWR rulemaking and to the Environmental Management Commission, Water Quality Committee, and the Groundwater Committee. Staff members also represent the Department on a variety of state and national workgroups.

For more information please click the links below

Contacts
Classifications
Current Reclassification Proposals
Surface Water Standards
Groundwater Standards
303(d) Impaired Waterbodies List
DWR Surface Water Classifications Map
DWR Rules Mailing List - Sign up here to receive rule-making announcements!
Rules Review and Readoption
Helpful DWR Links
Helpful EPA Links

Contacts

Main telephone: 919-707-9000 (or use direct numbers below)

FAX: 919-807-6497

Name Title Telephone Email
Jeff Manning Branch Chief 919-807-6415 jeff.manning@ncdenr.gov
Tonya Godwin Office Assistant IV 919-807-6301 tonya.godwin@ncdenr.gov
Adriene Weaver Classifications, WQC Coordinator, Rules Review 919-807-6414 adriene.weaver@ncdenr.gov
Elizabeth Kountis Reclassifications Coordinator, Rules Review 919-807-6418 elizabeth.kountis@ncdenr.gov
Connie Brower State Water Quality Standards Coordinator, Rules Review 919-807-6416 connie.brower@ncdenr.gov
Jucilene Hoffman Economic Analysis, Rules Review 919-707-9016 jucilene.hoffman@ncdenr.gov
Christopher Ventaloro Surface Water and Groundwater Standards Assistance 919-807-6421 christopher.ventaloro@ncdenr.gov
Mailing address: 1611 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1611

DWR Rules Mailing List

This mailing list publishes emails concerning rule-making announcements. To sign up, simply send a blank email to DENR.DWR.DWRrules-join@lists.ncmail.net

DWRrules Listserv Public Archive


Rules Review & Readoption

Rules Review per N.C. General Statutes §150B-21.3A

Rules Readoption 


Helpful DWR Links

DWR Rules Webpage - North Carolina Administrative Code

DWR Calendar for Public Hearings & Meetings - Dates, locations, & public notices

Environmental Management Commission (EMC) - Adopts rules for the protection, preservation, and enhancement of th NC's air and water resources

Data, Statistics, & Maps


Helpful EPA Links

Water Quality Standards Program - Aquatic Life, Human Health, Nutrients, etc...

ECOTOX Database - Chemical toxicity information for aquatic and terrestrial life

IRIS (Integrated Risk Information System) Database - Compiles reports on substances that cause human health effects

Major Environmental Laws - Laws that influence environmental protection and EPA regulatiory process

Clean Water Act - History, introduction, updates, etc...

CFR Title 40: Protection of Environment - Code of Federal Regulations that deals with protecting the environment and human health