Donate to Hurricane Recovery

Classification & Standards

The Classifications, Standards & Rules Review Branch is responsible for developing and assisting with the interpretation and implementation of the state's surface water and groundwater quality standards and surface water body classifications such as Water Supply (WS), High-Quality Waters (HQW), and others. It provides support for DWR rulemaking and to the Environmental Management Commission, Water Quality Committee, and the Groundwater Committee. Staff members also represent the Department on a variety of state and national workgroups.

For more information please click the links below:

Contacts

Main telephone: 919-707-9000 (or use direct numbers below)

FAX: 919-807-6497

Name Title Telephone Email
Jeff Manning Branch Chief 919-707-3676 jeff.manning@ncdenr.gov

Tonya Godwin

Office Assistant IV 919-707-3674 tonya.godwin@ncdenr.gov
Julie Ventaloro Economist 919-707-9117 julie.ventaloro@ncdenr.gov
Peter Johnston

Environmental Technician, Classifications, Standards, Rules Review

919-707-9011 peter.johnston@ncdenr.gov
Adriene Weaver Classifications, WQC Coordinator, Rules Review 919-707-3692 adriene.weaver@ncdenr.gov
Elizabeth Kountis Reclassifications Coordinator, Rules Review 919-707-3685 elizabeth.kountis@ncdenr.gov
Connie Brower State Water Quality Standards Coordinator, Rules Review 919-707-3686 connie.brower@ncdenr.gov
Bridget Flaherty Groundwater Water Quality Standards Coordinator, Rules Review 919-707-9022 bridget.flaherty@ncdenr.gov
Christopher Ventaloro Water Quality Standards Co-Coordinator, Rules Review 919-707-9016 christopher.ventaloro@ncdenr.gov
Susie Meadows Water Quality Standards Specialist 919-707-9033 susan.meadows@ncdenr.gov 
Mailing address: 1611 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1611
DWR Rules Mailing List

This mailing list publishes emails concerning rule-making announcements. To sign up, simply send a blank email to DENR.DWR.DWRrules-join@lists.ncmail.net

DWR rules Listserv Public Archive

Rules Review & Readoption
Helpful DWR Links
Helpful EPA Links