Classifications & Standards

The Classifications, Standards & Rules Review Branch is responsible for developing and assisting with the interpretation and implementation of the state's surface water and groundwater quality standards and surface water body classifications such as Water Supply (WS), High-Quality Waters (HQW), and others. It provides support for DWR rulemaking and to the Environmental Management Commission (EMC) and the EMC's Water Quality and Groundwater Committees. Staff members also represent the Department on a variety of state and national workgroups.

For more information please click the links below:

Contacts

Main telephone: 919-707-9000 (or use direct numbers below)

FAX: 919-807-6497

Name Title Telephone Email
Paul Wojoski Branch Chief 919-707-3676 paul.wojoski@ncdenr.gov

Vacant

Office Assistant IV    
Vacant Economist    
Peter Johnston

Environmental Technician, WQC Coordinator

919-707-9011 peter.johnston@ncdenr.gov
Adriene Weaver Classifications 919-707-3692 adriene.weaver@ncdenr.gov
Vacant Reclassifications Coordinator    
Elizabeth Kountis Water Quality Standards Coordinator 919-707-3685 elizabeth.kountis@ncdenr.gov
Bridget Flaherty Shelton Groundwater Water Quality Standards Coordinator 919-707-9022 bridget.shelton@ncdenr.gov
Christopher Ventaloro Water Quality Standards Coordinator 919-707-9016 christopher.ventaloro@ncdenr.gov
Susie Meadows Water Quality Standards Specialist 919-707-9033 susan.meadows@ncdenr.gov
Mailing address: 1611 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1611
DWR Rulemaking Email Listserv

This mailing list publishes emails concerning rule-making announcements.  Please fill out the form below to join the list.




To receive historical rule-making announcements, view the DWRrules List Archive.

Rules Review
Helpful DWR Links
Helpful EPA Links